Skip to content

Cluster operation

This topic introduces the cluster operation of Dashboard, including cluster node, cluster service, cluster scaling, service configuration, member management and version upgrade.

Node

On this page, the information of all nodes will be shown, including the cluster name, Host(SSH_User), CPU (Core), etc. Users can add node, view node monitoring, and manage services on node.

Add node

Click Add Node and enter the following information, the Host, SSH port, SSH user, authentication type, NebulaGraph package, etc., and click OK.

The authentication type are described as follows:

  • SSH Password: Enter the password of the SSH user.
  • SSH Key: Click Upload and select the private key file of the node. You need to generate the secret key files on the node to be added and send the private key file to the current computer (not the Dashboard machine). If the passphrase is set, this parameter is also required.

Other node operations

Click the plus button to view the process name, service type, status, runtime directory of the corresponding node.

  • Click Node Monitoring to jump to the detailed node monitoring page. For more information, see Cluster monitoring.
  • Click Service Management to jump to the service management page.
  • Click Edit Node to modify the node settings.
  • If a node has no service, you can Delete Node. For details about how to delete a service, see section Scale below.

Service

  • On this page, you can select the service type, service status, and host to filter the shown data, quickly select one or multiple services, and start/stop/restart the service with one click.

Danger

If you click Stop/Restart, the running task will be stopped instantly, which may cause data inconsistency. It is recommended to perform this operation during the low peak period of the business.

Update Config

On this page, you can modify configuration files of Storage and Graph services. For more information, see Storage service configuration and Graph service configuration. Updating configuration files is a batch operation, and each Storage/Graph configuration file will be modified.

  • After clicking Save, the configuration will take effect after the next service restart.
  • Click Save and Restart to directly restart the service to make the configuration take effect immediately.

    Danger

    If you click Save and Restart, the running task will be stopped and the cluster will be restarted instantly, which may cause data inconsistency. It is recommended to perform this operation during the low peak period of the business.

Member Management

Accounts with the role admin and cluster creators with the role user can add members to manage clusters. By default, the role of cluster creators is owner, and is displayed on the Member Management page. The role of added members is operator.

For more information about accounts and roles, see Authority management.

Add cluster members

The accounts of cluster members must be included in Dashboard accounts. For information about how to create an account, see Authority management.

You can follow the below steps to add cluster members.

  1. At the top navigation bar of the Dashboard Enterprise Edition page, click Cluster Management.
  2. On the right side of the target cluster, click Detail.
  3. On the left-side navigation bar of the page, click Operation->Member Management.
  4. On the Member Management page, click the search box at the top left.
  5. In the drop-down list, select the target account that you want to add to be the administrator of the cluster, and then click Add.

Other operations

  • At the top right of the Member Management page, you can search for cluster members.
  • Click delete to delete members.

Version Upgrade

NebulaGraph Dashboard Enterprise Edition supports upgrading the version of the existing NebulaGraph cluster.

Caution

  • During the upgrade, the cluster will replace binary files. The upgrade speed is fast, but the cluster will still be stopped and restarted.
  • Automatic rollback is not supported. Users can manually upgrade the cluster again when the upgrade failed.
  • The upgrade cannot be stopped or cancelled.

Note

  • Only supports upgrading the NebulaGraph cluster that version greater than 3.0.0.
  • Do not supports upgrading cluster across major version.
  • The community edition can be upgraded to the enterprise edition by uploading and verifying licenses, and the enterprise edition can be upgraded to the community edition.
  • The cluster can be upgraded to a minor version in the current major version, including a smaller version than the current minor version.
  1. At the top navigation bar of the Dashboard Enterprise Edition page, click Cluster Management.
  2. On the right side of the target cluster, click Detail.
  3. On the left-side navigation bar of the page, click Operation->Version Upgrade.
  4. On the Version Upgrade page, confirm Current NebulaGraph version, select the upgrade version and then click Next.

    Note

    If you do not find the suitable version, click Package Management to download or upload the required version installation package. For details, see Package management.

  5. Perform the upgrade check, and then click Next. The cluster will be shut down during the upgrade and automatically restart the services after the upgrade. You can use the diagnostics report to help you judge whether the timing to upgrade is suitable.

  6. Confirm the upgrade information again, including Cluster Name, Current NebulaGraph Version and Upgrade NebulaGraph Version, then click Upgrade. Users can view the upgrade task information in task center, the task type is version update.


Last update: September 16, 2022